The Moroccan Tiles Post!

Hi all! I hope you’ve had a lovely summer. I have not been posting during the holidays, but I’ll try to post more regularly now that I’m no longer in vacation mode (even though I’ll have a lot of work in my Master’s year)… Oh well! Let’s just take it one post at a time.

Zellige Collage

As the title suggests, this post is all about Moroccan tiles or zellige. How is this wonderfully exotic word pronounced, you ask? Simple: with a ‘J’ from ‘John’ at the beginning and with the ‘ige’ from ‘prestige’ at the end. Zellige is one of the main characteristics of Moroccan architecture. It’s is a series of geometric shapes and vibrant colours on a square cement tile. It used to be a sign of luxury and wealth but, nowadays, it’s part of the average Moroccan home. Even if Moroccans can barely afford to decorate their homes, I can assure you that they will have lovely Moroccan tiles covering the floors and/or walls. We don’t even question it, it’s just there.

I’ve selected some zellige patterns for you below. I do have to point out that these patterns are on the old-fashioned side, but still a common sight in Moroccan homes. However, most new or renovated houses do not use these patterns anymore.

I hope you like them!

In a Moroccan Garden

tiles - zellige

Motif Zellige 92

Motif Zellige 20

Motif Zellige 77

Motif Zellige 64

Motif Zellige 72

Motif Zellige 48

Motif Zellige 39

Motif Zellige 52

Leave a Reply

